Go Bold or Go Home

IMG_3082

How gorgeously gaudy are peonies? I found this picture from last year on my computer and wish I had these in a vase on my desk. Peonies are such a welcome antidote to clouds and rain. I’ve  been trying to wear more color these days  so maybe I should take a lesson from these flowers. Today I put on a gray t-shirt and thought, “Is this the best you can do, lady?” So I threw on a bright pink sweater as the exclamation point to my otherwise blah outfit. The sweater is a rare impulse buy and now I’m glad I have it.

I do like colorful clothes but I’m not always as willing to go bold as I am with accessories. Wearing a neutral palette and finding colorful accents in belts, shoes, or jewelry seems more do-able for me. Maybe it’s time to go balls out.

bird_nyc_spring_lookbook

One place where I always find colorful inspiration is Bird. I’ve been to the Williamsburg NYC store and it is like the mothership for anyone who appreciates a bit of quirk in their wardrobe. I’ve checked out their Spring Lookbook over and over, wishing I could put things together in just the right way. Maybe neon shoes with a graphic print is way beyond my capabilities, but a girl can dream.

By Jane

I am a writer based in Portland, OR.

Leave a comment